First post! Intro

Hello! First post on WordPress and I’m very excited! I am supposed to to introduce myself and talk about myself so here it goes… Hello again, my name is Alexandria Duncan, call me Alex, please. I am a sophomore majoring Mass Communications with a Journalism track and minoring in EMF with a focus on Media and Film. I am from Wilmington, Delaware. A lot of the time, I am the only person someone knows from Delaware so I take pride in being born and raised there. I went to St. Elizabeth High school. I played volleyball all four years there. I continue to play volleyball at Towson. This semester I am the president of the club volleyball team. I am excited for this semester because I am starting to get into my major and volleyball starts tomorrow.

As far as hobbies, likes, and dislikes go, besides volleyball. I love to go out and have a good time. I’m trying to make this part not sound like a post on eHarmony or a dating website. I love food and sleeping. However I also love to do things such as work out and physical activity. When the weather is warm out, I am always outside. I like to read, both novels and magazines. Music is a big part of my life. I’m constantly listening to my iPod wether it is walking to class or running. I also love to write. That is why I chose the Journalism track. My friends always ask me to read their papers or help them write one. I love my friends and family. They mean the world to me and I could not ask for more. Some favorites of mine include the beach which is my favorite place, ice cream and italian are my favorite foods, the “Boondock Saints” and “Tristan & Isolde” are my favorite movies, and summer is my favorite season. I would love to live on a beach where it is warm and sunny all the time, which is kind of ironic because there is snow on the ground right now. Dislikes include cats, I am a dog person, stupid drama, liars, and math. I am a pretty easy-going person who loves to smile and laugh. At the Red Lobster in which I am a hostess, my nickname is “Smiles.” I hope one day my smile is seen on the television screen.

When I graduate college, I want to be a sports broadcaster on ESPN. I believe there are too many older gentlemen on the network and some female reporters would add a different perspective while also adding a feminine touch. Also, I love sports. I am a diehard Philadelphia Eagles and Phllies fan. Being a part of the sports industry is a dream of mine. Another part of my plan for the future is to fall madly in love with a professional athlete, preferably a football or baseball player, while I am on the job. I have big aspirations. I thought about my future and planned it out, however if ESPN and a marriage to a professional athlete do not work out I have a couple of back-up career plans. Working on E! News on the E! Entertainment Network is one other them. I would love to interview celebrities while getting all dolled up and going to parties and award shows. My third career option is to work at a magazine. I would love to be Katie Hudson’s character, “Andy” in the movie, “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days.” MCOM 257 will definitely prepare me for any of the careers and I look forward to the class!

2 thoughts on “First post! Intro

Leave a Reply

